3 Berry Pie+a rather long intro

Photo by author

Of my many obsessions, one of the in-the-middle ones is PIE! I love pies because they’re so fun to make up recipes for, they can have ANYTHING in them (people, I’ve seen cookie dough pies). But probably the most beloved are fruit pies…there are countless occasions that we have them on: July 4th, Thanksgiving, you get the point. Pies have cousins such as crisps, cobblers, galettes and crostatas. Each have a special cause. Cobblers and crisps super easy to make (I actually recently made an AMAZING one from Ina Garten. They were meant to be individual, but I didn’t have ramekins on hand, so I made a big one. Here’s the link: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/peach-and-blueberry-crumbles-recipe.html. Preserve the last moments of summer, guys.) Galettes and crostatas are nice for a crowd or on a time crunch, and finally, pies. Whether they’re streusel-topped or lattice crusted, pies are awesome and everyone tends to love them. The other day, my mom asked me to make dessert for a gathering with my friend’s family. We were making a shopping run at Whole Foods, and they had some good-looking premade pie dough that I used. The filling, I really came up with. Ok guys, I’m just gonna come out: I’ve never made pie crust from scratch.  I KNOW, RIGHT?????!!!!! Ok, gasp and sputter all you want. Tsk, tsk, shame on her, running a cooking blog having never made a pie crust. I’ve just never had enough time! You can banish me from your list of seriously-amateur-chefs to oh-my-gosh-they-can’t-even-cook list. Do it. One of these days, I’ll make one. Then you can come to this URL once more. I know, I’ll stop droning on now and give you the darn recipe. (p.s, go to this link for an awesome new trend: the crispy egg-http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2014/10/the-crispy-egg/ ).

INGREDIENTS:

  • Two premade piecrusts (the filling makes two pies, but you can totally halve this)
  • 1 3/4 cup fresh blueberries
  • 1 cup fresh golden raspberries (regular is fine, too)
  • 1 cup fresh, halved strawberries
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cornstarch
  • 1/3 water
  • 1 tbsp. lemon juice
  • pinch of cinnamon (optional)
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2-3/4 stick butter, depending on your needs
  • 1 cup flour

Make It!

  1. Preheat oven to 400º.
  2. In a large saucepan, whisk cornstarch, sugar, salt, cinnamon (if using) and water until smooth.
  3. Add blueberries and bring to a boil, whisking while doing so. Mix until thickened, about 2 minutes. Don’t get worried if it takes a little while. You can pop some blueberries to let the juices out, add a bit more cornstarch, or turn up the heat. It should look a gorgeous purple color. Someone should make that into a paint color.
  4. Once thick, take off heat and gently fold in the strawberries, raspberries, and lemon juice to blueberries.
  5. Poke a few holes in thew piecrusts with a fork, for air venting: I’ve always used this awesome trick. Spoon the filling into the piecrust; you should have some left in the pot. Fill the second crust.
  6. Make streusel topping: in a small-ish bowl, mix the butter and flour with you fingertips until kind of clotted, or with an hand mixer until grainy. DON’T LET IT MIX FULLY. Add brown sugar, and a pinch more of salt, and mix.
  7. Sprinkle streusel generously over pies. Put a dot of butter on top of pies.
  8. Bake for 40-50 minutes, or until streusel is golden brown.
  9. Cool on a rack, cut and ENJOY!

STAY TUNED FOR BUNDT CAKES!!!! (Lemon with Strawberry Glaze and Vanilla Bean with Dark Chocolate Glaze!)

5 thoughts on “3 Berry Pie+a rather long intro

  1. abigail snyder says:

    I can’t believe you’ve never made a pie crust, you slacker kid! (Just kidding 😀 .) This looks so good. Can’t wait to see what yumminess you come up with next. When do you start your catering business?

Leave a Reply

