Chocolate Chip Coconut Cookies and HALLOWEEN!

Last week I was stressed about something, so I wanted to bake. (Forget hot baths, that’s what helps me.) I was looking around my cabinet and found some leftover chocolate chips. I wanted to add something special to the chocolate chip cookies and had some leftover shredded coconut from making granola so I figured I’d add that. They were a hit and I made them the next week for an event I was at. Even MORE delicious using Ghirardelli chocolate and extra coconut…and they were all melty and gooey fresh from the oven. You can also use these in the “3 Things to Make with Chocolate Chip Cookies” in these recipes, if you want to go all the way back to August 2013: https://kidkitchenblog.wordpress.com/2013/08/26/3-things-to-do-with-chocolate-chip-cookies/ Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

1 package semi-sweet Ghirardelli Chocolate Chips

2 sticks unsalted butter, softened

3/4 cup sugar

3/4 cup light brown sugar

2 eggs

2 1/4 cups unsifted flour

1 tsp. baking soda

Pinche of salt

Chopped pecans (optional)

1 1/2 cups shredded unsweetened coconut.

MAKE IT!

  1. Preheat oven to 375 F
  2. Stir flour with baking soda and salt and set aside.
  3. In a large bowl mix butter and sugars with an electric mixer until creamy. Add eggs, one at a time and then mix in vanilla. Mix on low until fully incorporated.
  4. Gradually mix dry mix into wet mix; fold in chocolate chips and pecans, if using.  Add the coconut and mix, tasting to see if more is needed. Drop by tablespoon onto parchment lined baking sheets and bake for 9-11 min, until golden and a tester comes out clean.
  5. Enjoy!
A pile of chocolate chip cookies

A pile of goodness

And now, about Halloween. I was a Pumpkin Spice Latte. Yes, like from Starbucks. And my sister was a Cake Pop. Pure awsomeness. The candy selection this year was pretty good too–Hershey’s had Cookies n’ Creme and Candy Corn flavored bars and I got some Lifesaver Gummies. (Darn my stupid braces!) I’m trying to figure out some kind of Junior MInt flavored dessert, and other recipes for leftover Halloween candy, so stay tuned. Also, thanks to the people who’ve already submitted recipes! I decided we should have sections, like desserts, meats, vegetarian and breakfast.

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Coconut Cookies and HALLOWEEN!

Leave a Reply

