2 Salads and New Year’s Resolutions

I feel absolutely terrible because I haven’t posted in (yikes) nearly a month. If I want to keep this going, I’ve gotta step up my act… 🙂 First of all, I found some incredible new cooking websites and youtubes I’d love to share with you:

  • Our Best Bites: These lovely ladies have some fantastic recipes, art projects and DIYs I’d love to make any day.
  • Smitten Kitchen: Ok fine, this is not new at all. But I just wanted to remind you of Deb’s brilliancy and to tell you to look at her amazing looking key lime pie recipe.
  • Krissy’s Creations: The wife of a baseball player, Krissy really has some great creations.
  • Let’s Eat Fiction: This YouTube channel has some amazing recipes. As many of you know, I am a die-hard reader (and Harry Potter fan) and this channel fulfills my need for any recipes of the Hogwarts sort.

But now, let’s be serious. Most of my posts are desserts and baked goods, but I refuse to change the name of this blog to “Kid Bakery”. Doesn’t have a ring to it, you know? Weeeeelllll anyway, I figured it was high time to start on some savory stuff, especially because of my mom’s new month-of-no-sugar January resolution. I’ll try to post as many dinner recipes as I can, but just warning you, I do have some layer cakes in store…Here are two yummy winter salads that are perfect for a weeknight or weekend dinner to surprise your mom/dad. Enjoy!

SALAD #1: Shaved Brussels Sprout and Maple-Glazed Squash Pan Salad

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups of Brussels sprouts, plus more if needed, washed
  • Extra-virgin olive oil
  • Slivered or sliced almonds or toasted pecans (chopped if using pecans)
  • 4 Delicata squash, chopped into rings
  • 2 tablespoons maple syrup
  • Salt
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • 1 clove garlic, pressed (optional)

Make It!

  1. Preheat your oven to 425˚F
  2. Toss the squash in a medium bowl with the maple syrup and salt to taste. Add more syrup if wanted.
  3. Meanwhile, chop the Brussels sprouts into shavings, in a chiffonade-like way.
  4. When the oven is preheated, spread the soaked squash on a baking sheet in one layer.
  5. Roast the squash in the oven for about 25 minutes, flipping halfway through.
  6. While the squash is roasted, heat some olive oil in a cast-iron skillet, or heavy pan. When heated, turn down heat and add garlic. Sautè garlic until golden. Add the almonds or pecans and sautè for about 3-5 minutes.
  7. Add the brussels sprouts and stir together, sautèing. Turn up the heat.
  8. When the squash is done. leave the sprouts and nuts on the heat and take the squash off the pan, using a spatula. Add the squash to the pan. Sautè until the sprouts are a bit wilted, nuts are golden and squash is a bit mushy. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  9. Take salad off heat and serve.
  10. Enjoy!

Salad #2: Arugula Pear Parmesan Salad with Vinaigrette 

Ingredients:

  • 1 box/package baby arugula
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • 2 Bosc Pears
  • 1 Cup Olive Oil
  • 1/3 cup Balsamic Vinegar
  • Salt
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • White Sugar

Make It!

  1. Wash the arugula thoroughly, and spin in a salad spinner.
  2. Put the arugula in a large salad bowl. Peel pears using vegetable peeler.
  3. Shave pears using the peeler, but I found that didn’t work, so I shaved them with a paring knife.
  4. Meanwhile, shave the parmesan in thin slices.
  5. In a small bowl, mix the oil with the vinegar. Adjust to taste, if not enough. My dad’s incredible ratio for his famous vinaigrette is 3:1, 3 oil to 1 vinegar. Add a pinch of sugar and some salt and pepper. Adjust to taste. Pour over salad and toss and serve.
  6. Enjoy!

Most people make new year’s resolutions and forget them after the month of January. My top new year’s resolution among other things is to make these posts:

  • Leek and Potato Soup
  • 2 Layer Cakes
  • Banana-Cinnamon-Honey Cupcakes
  • Cupcake decoration tutorial
  • Lemon Sheet Cake
  • Pasta with Tomato Meat Sauce
  • Chicken Milanese
  • Garlic Bread

Happy New Year, guys! 😉

3 thoughts on “2 Salads and New Year’s Resolutions

  1. Amy says:

    Good to have you back Kid kitchen! (I agree that “Kid Bakery” just doesn’t work). Anyways, I’m excited to see this savory direction you’re taking things and good luck to mom with her no sugar January!

Leave a Reply

