My Kitchen Essentials: Part 1

Hey guys! I figured that it was about time I that I shared with you what I love to keep in my kitchen. The first part will be about appliances and tools, and the next about ingredients that you should always have on hand. This is my first time doing any post of this sort, so spare any judgement ;). Here goes:

KID KITCHEN ESSENTIALS: PART 1!

Appliances

  1. KitchenAid Stand Mixer Artisan Series: Though I didn’t get this until my birthday this year, I put it at the top of my list. It’s not necessarily a total must-have and it is a bit of a splurge, but I think it is totally helpful and a bit of a life changer. I have THIS ONE in Aqua Sky shade to add a pop of color to the counter. Note: If you do get this, I don’t recommend throwing away or selling your hand mixer (see below): having both helps a lot.
  2. KitchenAid 5 Speed Hand Mixer: This has been my kitchen BFF for a while now. It is great for small projects like cookies that don’t require a stand mixer. I did just fine with only this and not a stand mixer and it is a worthy purchase. I have THIS ONE in Empire Red.
  3. Le Creuset Silicone Medium Spatula: This is literally my FAVORITE kitchen tool in the history of all kitchen tools. No joke. There are tons of fancy, electronic options out there, but my silicone spatula will always be my favorite. It is a life-changer that can help you with nearly every task. The answer to many of my cooking questions is “Use the Le Creuset spatula.” I have THIS ONE in White.
  4. Cuisinart DLC-2007N Prep 7 7-Cup Food Processor: Long title, but the last 2 words are what matter most. Food processors are my rock and they are a huge help. As Deb Perelman says: “People, you can make Nutella in one. Need I say more?” I actually did make Nutella in mine the other day. Literally. I have THIS ONE in White.
  5. Cuisinart DLC-2ABC Prep Plus Food Processor Mini: These are awesome when you need to prep something quick. I want to get THIS ONE in the Sugared Plum shade.
  6. A Blender: I have the vintage ’90s Ōsterizer Designer Cycle Blend that my mom got 20 years ago. I couldn’t find it anywhere online, but if you can, I recommend. If not, my friend has the amazing Magic Bullet NutriBullet 12 piece High-Speed Blender. Vitamix blenders are also good quality.
  7. Braun “Soup Wand”: This is not actually what it’s called, but my mom calls it this, fittingly. I have THIS ONE.
  8. OXO Good Grips Chef’s Mandoline Slicer: This was a birthday present, and is a major help in cutting veggies. I have THIS FABULOUS ONE from OXO.
  9. Chef’s CHoice 830 WafflePro Heart Waffle Iron: This iron hands down makes the best waffles. In a rush, I use Stonewall Kitchen’s Farmhouse Waffle and Pancake Mix that is totally natural. I have THIS ONE.
  10. Cuisinart GR-1 Griddler Panini and Sandwich Press: This might be my favorite electric appliance. I tend to hate single-use appliances, but in this case, it is TOTALLY worth it for to-die-for lunches. Sandwiches, crostini, quesadillas and more are super easy in this great press. I have THIS ONE.
  11. Williams-Sonoma Candy Thermometer: Williams-Sonoma was already my favorite company before I got this. Their Mini-Pie Set is killer, my awesome Bundt pan is from there (see this post), their lemon curd is awesome, and their pie dough and Bundt cake mixes rock, not to mention the peppermint bark (swoon). By the way, if you visit the store, samples are aplenty. THIS candy and oil thermometer is great in every way.
  12. Williams-Sonoma Pastry Blender: This is great for scones and more. I have THIS ONE.
  13. Calphalon Contemporary 2-Piece Bread Knife Set: These are great and my most used knives. I have THESE.
  14. Sharp Knives: I have tons of different brands of these, but I recommend a few sharp knives, and chef’s knife, a paring knife and more. You’ll need more than you think.
  15. A Handy Pair of Kitchen Scissors: I couldn’t find the ones I have, but any pair is fine. They are handy for trimming meat and cutting all sorts of tough things, and you can use them for other stuff.
  16. OXO Good Grips Pick Me Up Tea Kettle: I know that this isn’t really for cooking, but it is the best. It make water for tea and oatmeal and coffee quickly, the seals never melt, and the handle doesn’t get hot. I have THIS ONE.
  17. Measuring Cups, Dry and Wet: Measuring cups are truly and utterly needed in a kitchen. Dry and wet are good of use. Any kind is good.
  18. Teaspoons: These are also essential and I would definitely go with them. I would find one with these measurements on a chain: 1 teaspoon, 1/2 teaspoon, 1/4 teaspoon, 1/8 teaspoon and 1 tablespoon
  19. Bowls
  20. Spoons
  21. Pots and Pans
  22. Spatulas
  23. All those other obvious things

I hope I’ve been some help and not droned on. Remember, fancy appliances aren’t everything, and a mixing bowl and spoon are your best weapons. 🙂

Leave a Reply

