Potato-Scallion Frittata with Bacon and Feta– A RECIPE IN PICTURES

frittata2

You may have noticed that on most of the food blogs of today’s era, before the recipe even starts, there is a little montage of different steps of the recipe (Ex: Smitten Kitchen, 101 Cookbooks, Pioneer Woman, etc.). As long as I’ve admired this coolness, I’ve never mustered the ability to do it myself. Well, that will now change with this post. My latest recipe from the Smitten Kitchen Project was a Potato Frittata with Feta and Scallions and was AMAZING and is conveniently Passover friendly…serve with matzah if you want, or with mushroom pâté. I love frittatas because they are blank slates. Using this egg base, you can mix and match whatever veggies and seasonings you want, making the ultimate creative dish. For this one, I subbed turkey bacon for regular bacon and baby fingerlings for yukon golds and even added some oregano and pepper to the eggs for flavor…enjoy! Photos by yours truly.

Here’s how I made mine:

brusholiveoil

I brushed this cookie pan with olive oil…

washing

Washed my potatoes to get all the nitty-gritty off of them…

chopped

Then chopped them all up.

washing-potatoes

Then I washed them one more time, but you don’t have to be a neuro like me.

potato-pan

I laid the potatoes in the prepared pan (don’t worry, you don’t have to make them in one layer…the contrast of crisp and soft is good!)

oven

I roasted ’em for 15 minutes, flipped them, and then roasted them for another 15 minutes

bacon

I fried the bacon in a cast-iron skillet (it took A WHILE!)…

bacon-matchsticks

Then I drained the bacon and cut it into matchsticks

pan

I added some olive oil to the bacon drippings and swirled it up the sides.

potatoes

I laid the potatoes in the oil-coated pan,

ramekins

I sorted the toppings like the organized person I am. (or was I sensing a gorgeous photo opportunity?!)

baconpotato

I added the bacon matchsticks to the potatoes in the skillet

bacon-scallion-potato

Then the scallions…

adding-feta

and the Feta…

eggs

I dumped six eggs into a bowl

eggs-chrome

Then I added milk, oregano, salt and pepper and whisked it all up.

adding-eggs

Then I poured it into the feta-potato-scallion-bacon skillet.

foilpan

I tented the frittata with foil and baked it for 20 minutes, then uncovered it and baking for another 10 minutes.

frittata

And this was the finished product: the perfect brunch.

Potato-Scallion Frittata with Feta and Bacon

Serves 4 (2 slices each) or 8 (1 slice each)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 3/4 pounds baby fingerlings (the smaller the better, and try to get a mix of colors for beauty)
  • Salt and Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • 1/4 pound turkey bacon, thick cut if you can find it
  • 1/2 bunch (3 to 4) scallions, trimmed and thinly sliced
  • 2/3 cup (3 ounces) crumbled feta cheese (NOT MARINATED)
  • 6 large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons milk or cream
  • Oregano

MAKE IT!

  1. Preheat your oven to 400ºF.
  2. Brush a baking pan with good olive oil until it is generously coated (use about 1 tbsp)
  3. Wash your potatoes well, then slice them and wash them again. Lay them out on the pan (doesn’t matter the amount of layers), and then roast in the oven for 30 minutes, flipping halfway. Let cool.
  4. Meanwhile, fry your bacon. (DO THIS WHILE THE POTATOES ARE IN THE OVEN) Cook the bacon in a cast-iron skillet until crispy, then drain on paper towels and cut into matchsticks.
  5. Add another tbsp of oil to the drippings and swirl around in the pan to coat the sides. (A pastry brush is handy for this.)
  6. Arrange the potatoes in the prepared skillet in one layer. Scatter the bacon, then scallions, then feta over the potatoes.
  7. Meanwhile, whisk a pinch of oregano, the eggs, the milk, salt and pepper in a bowl.
  8. Pour the egg mixture over the potatoes. Cover the skillet with foil and bake for 20 minutes. Then, remove the foil and bake for another 10-15 minutes, until the frittata is puffed at the edges and fully set.
  9. Serve right from the skillet. Enjoy!

Enjoy this yummy frittata over your spring break! Keep cooking 😉

Leave a Reply

