Messed-up Egg Sandwich + How to Cook in a Tiny Kitchen

The egg was messed up on purpose

The egg was messed up on purpose

Hello, everyone. I am dearly sorry that I haven’t posted in so long, but…

I MOVED! Yes, we moved out of our apartment after almost (!) 15 years and I was very sad to leave. We will be moving into an amazing new apartment sooner or later, but for now we are in a rental. But this isn’t any rental…this rental has the smallest kitchen in the world. In fact, we did not have enough room in our kitchen for various foods and so a closet in the hallway is serving as food storage. The closet right next to the one that has my dad’s button-downs.

It's actually sorta cute :)

It’s actually sorta cute 🙂

And so, this happened. Excuse the bad quality. And the apartment itself is nice, especially with its garden and (finally) grill, but it’s hard to think about that when this is the amount of counter space you have:

kitchen

And this is the amount of fridge space you have:

fridge

I know that our fridge food supply is slightly depleated

But, even in these hard times, I have some tips if some of you are facing kitchen space struggles.

1. Clean up! If you clean up as you go along, more space will magically appear.

2. Find unlikely places to put things. If I am making Key Lime Pie, and there is a rack of dishes blocking my way, I can put the rack of dishes outside, in the bathroom, in the sink, or if they are dry, in the pantry. See?

3. Maximize your space! Put most things you aren’t using in closets or cabinets, creating more counter space. Also: use every surface available! Who says that the dining room table isn’t a good place to mix things?

4. Cook at other people’s houses. Have a friend with an enormous kitchen? Um, ask to cook there! Plus, then you and your friend can have a blast cooking.

5. Stay positive! If you keep grumbling “There is no space here!”, it will certainly feel that way.

egg

sorry for the bad quality

But wait! The recipe! We forgot that this was a recipe!

So, as you may have realized, with this small kitchen, it is very limited the things I can cook. (You will be seeing a lot of salads.) But for me, it is my Saturday morning ritual to make myself an amazing breakfast sandwich on whatever bread we may have. (In  this case, it was ciabatta.) This was made a week ago, and ironically, as I am posting this on a Saturday, this is the only time I haven’t eaten a breakfast sandwich. I actually had pancakes. Oops.

muttled-egg

It started out with me making a fried egg, as so many stories often do, when, all of the sudden, when I was flipping it, it got all messed up! But have no fear, because, turns out that that actually tasted as good, if not better than normal fried egg. So yay!

boursin

Then I found this in my fridge, which I had bought at the store and oh my gosh it is soooooo amazing! It is called Boursin (pronounced boar-sanh, as in croissant) and it has (swoon) garlic and herbs.

bread-boursin

So I smothered a piece of toasted ciabatta with that and then tossed the egg on there and…

voila!

I had a little snack of bread and Boursin while the eggs were cooking, but is anyone really that surprised?!

Messed-up Egg Sandwich with Boursin

Serves one

Ingredients:

  • 1 large egg
  • Two pieces of good ciabatta bread
  • Boursin Garlic and herb cheese
  • Butter
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Bacon, cooked (optional)

Make it!

  1. Butter your pan, and put it on medium-high.
  2. Toast your bread.
  3. Crack the egg and start to fry it, then break it up with the spatula until it is kind of half-fried, half-scrambled.
  4. Spread one piece of the bread with the creamy Boursin, and put the bacon, if using, on the other one.
  5. Place the egg on the bacon/non-cheese side. Cut it in half. ENJOY!

Thanks everyone! Keep cooking! 😉

4 thoughts on “Messed-up Egg Sandwich + How to Cook in a Tiny Kitchen

  1. abigail snyder says:

    Yum! I love Boursin. And your advice about living in small spaces is good for all of us living in NYC apartments!

  2. Lori Chajet says:

    Thank you for inspiring me to cook in the tiny kitchen and not complain about it… the outdoor grill certainly helps to spread things out though! Can’t wait for they key lime pie.

Leave a Reply

